The Pixar Story

Posted on October 7, 2010

2


I vividly remember the summer of 1995 in some theater and on a first date with some girl. I knew little about this girl and even less about this movie. By the end of the two hours I was captivated and it was all I could talk about afterwards. That night, my love affair with Pixar began while my relationship with that girl ended. Believe me, I didn’t lose any sleep over the latter.

I recently watched a fantastic new documentary called The Pixar Story. This amazing movie chronicles the tumultuous journey of Pixar when it first started in 1979 through its current day monumental success. The story centers around John Lasseter, one of the founders and Creative Directors of this innovative organization. This doc is filled with tremendous lessons like:

  • The importance of embracing change
  • Cultivating a passionate and committed team
  • The power of optimism and infectious enthusiasm
  • Story drives everything
  • Beauty is built on sacrifice
  • An overnight success takes a long time

This is a perfect movie to watch as an individual creative leader or with a diverse team. The part of the story from Toy Story 1 and 2 is particularly compelling. Regardless of your particular field, this will inspire you to tap into your inner dream and to achieve it no matter what. The Pixar Story is a ‘must see’ and would be an invaluable contribution to your inspiration library. Here is an excerpt:

I had to buy my copy off of iTunes but it should soon be available on Netflix and Amazon. You can also visit The Pixar Story website.

