My Koi Pond project

Posted on March 15, 2010

8


I love fish. It’s been an off-and-on hobby for many years. It started over a decade ago with a few gallon fresh water tank. It went from multiple tanks to my first Koi pond before too long. Since moving to my new place I have been waiting for the right time to build a new Koi tank. I wanted to use this as an opportunity to help prepare my mind for the next Design Stars project later this month so my goal was to complete this in just one day. I woke up Saturday morning, sketched out a plan, bought materials, worked, and completed it by dinner time. Being decisive while not sacrificing quality is a skill I am continually pushing myself to develop. I can’t stand projects that last for more than a few days. I get too bored and I find my best efforts are always in the first few days anyways. So I try to limit myself to projects that can be completed in a short amount of time. Seth Godin says ‘Linchpin’ leaders are good at ‘shipping’ or cranking things out quickly. I like that mentality.

It was a fun project and sure to bring much joy to our family for years to come.

My sketch and plans before I start

Digging started in an existing planter

Liner placed down and water being added

The fountain and pump is working

Rocks and landscaping adds the life to this setting

Pond is now ready. It will be a few days before fish can go in

Tagged: