My 2010 New Year’s Resolutions

Posted on January 2, 2010

4


In 1984, a visionary sequel to 2001 came out called “2010: The year we make contact“. It was about a pivotal moment when a supernatural intelligence touches mankind thus changing it forever. As I make my 2010 New Year’s resolution, my goal is to use this opportunity to not only change myself but hopefully the world.

The typical resolution lists comprises of a list of do’s and don’ts like ‘going to the gym’ or losing weight’. While these are usually good endeavors, they don’t change your foundational value system. Most resolutions fail because the focus is on specific activities verses shaping belief. With the right value system, even the most mundane activities can bring creative inspiration. So as we head into a new decade of potential, this is what I resolve to do:

  1. Engage in specific creative activities that only I can uniquely do and that I can excel in.
  2. Lessen activities that are driven from obligation, routine, or guilt. Not allow myself to be dominated by the tyranny of the urgent.
  3. Develop patterns, habits, and exercises that stimulates new ideas. I will do this by daily investing in reading, experiencing, expressing and through healthy relationships.
  4. Invest in the creative community by continually building up a culture of trust, communication, freedom, and committment.
  5. I will prioritize and make space for life-giving activities like sleep, hobbies, food, friends, and family.
  6. And finally, my most important resolution for 2010; I will not be afraid to fail even if it means challenging the status quo, looking foolish, or risking security.

Best wishes to all the creative leaders out there. May 2010 be your most imaginative and courageous year yet!

