Horseshoes and hand grenades

Posted on December 10, 2009

0


“It only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades…” It’s an old familiar cliché that we have all said before. Two seemingly unrelated objects are juxtaposed together to convey a point. It’s less about pinpoint accuracy and more about proximity.

This morning I sit on a balcony overlooking the pacific ocean in Kona, Hawaii (I know I should have shown you that pic!). I am spending a few days with local and global leaders exploring future initiatives. The details are unclear and the next steps are vague. We are simply getting in proximity of each other and seeing what emerges. Naturally, we want to know the strategic direction for the future but sometimes you just have to get close to something first to see what births. It’s the horseshoes and hand grenade approach to creative living. It’s not the best tactic all the time, however it’s the imperfection that might trigger a creative, bold new direction. The chaos is exhilarating and freeing.

Today, I encourage you to toss horseshoes and lob hand grenades out into the world around you. Let me know what happens. 

 

Tagged: ,