An interview with Judd Apatow

Posted on December 3, 2009

0




I recently watched an interview with producer, screenwriter, and director, Judd Apatow. He is well-known for making a distinct series of critically and commercially successful comedy films, including The 40-Year-Old Virgin, Knocked Up, and Funny People. He has also produced films such as Superbad, Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy, Step Brothers, and Pineapple Express. He recently directed Funny People. I found his interview fascinating as he shared his creative process and the journey as a filmmaker. For as successful as he is in a relatively short time, he is very humble, grounded, and authentic. Here is are some great quotes from his interview:

My biggest decisions I made early in my career was realizing that I was never going to be a great comedian like Adam Sandler (close friends growing up was Sandler)

As a young staff writer, I need to make myself the writer that could not be replaced

The root of all comedy is being subversive

I’m not making comedy but I make movies where people wrestle with doing the right thing.

In the creative process, I ask myself, is there a way to communicate serious matters in a funny way?

My friend, Seth Rogin is the better version of me.

I describe my style of filmmaking as “Human Comedy”

Posted in: Creative Leaders