Community, adoption, and the Dallas Cowboys

Posted on November 30, 2009

0


Every Thanksgiving, our family writes down what we are thankful for on table-cloth we have been using for years. It serves as a large format journal for our family as we reflect on the year’s adventures. So as we conclude the Thanksgiving season, I wanted to share some of the things I wrote down for this year. David Gergen, political consultant, once said:

The farther you look back, the farther you can look ahead.

So here is a list of what I am thankful for before I start looking ahead: 

  • A supportive, inspirational, creative wife
  • Healthy, happy, and beautiful kids
  • To be connected with a ‘like minded’, multi-cultural community. They have helped me to discover and embrace who I am. 
  • A daily opportunity to exercise my creative gifts- like writing for this blog!
  • To work with a team of passionate advocates that are committed to creating a better world
  • Having my eyes open to the world of foster care and adoption.
  • For my faith
  • Good health (although I get up a little slower these days :))
  • And I am thankful for hobbies like painting, BabbleOn5, the Dallas Cowboys, design, Catan, Comic-Con, and movies.
Tagged: