My Top 5 movie villains of all time

Posted on July 22, 2009

0


Joker01

There something about a movie villain that makes a movie. These days, a villain has to be just as (if not more) interesting and complex as the protagonist. We want real villains with real vulnerabilities, that reflect our dark side. I would argue that it’s harder to create a great original villain that the audience can appreciate than a hero.  Here are some of my top movie villains of all time pulled from Babble-on 5 -my movie website.

  1. I will start with an easy villain to top my list- Heath Leger’s Joker. Not only was he terrifying but also vulnerable and scarred. A master performance that deserved the Academy Award.
  2. Ricardo Montalban’s Khan Noonien Singh fom Star Trek II comes in at #2. Powerful, complex, and calculating. He was the Joker of deep space!
  3. I know this is another easy pick- Hannible Lector from Silence of the Lambs. How could someone behind bars still be so frightening? Gave me nightmares for a weeks.
  4. Not as psychotic as the others but a great villain- Hans Gruber from Die Hard. He is the prototype villain by which all other action baddies are measured. “Shoot the glash!…”
  5. My not so predictble villian- Miranda Priestly (Merryl Streep) from Devil Wears Prada. She is the archetype ice queen. No blood, violence, or gore, she just kills you with her lethal stare!

Let me know what you think or if you have any suggestions!

Posted in: Design Rules