An interview with Fashion Designer Michael Lew

Posted on February 2, 2009

0


I have really been inspired by Michael Lew as an artist, leader, and man. He is amazingly talented and passionate about his work- and equally about life. Thanks Michael for your time!

tkinterviewpics04 

If you had to describe your artistry in one word, what would it be?
Design Director, it seems that I can be very creative but at the same time delegate projects out very well..

How did you develop a love for your art?
I developed my love for art back in high school, I always felt that things are all natural and should just be the way they are.  Everyone has a different opinion on things and we should respect this.  Art was the only thing that I understood back than that we can do this with.   I never thought about being different, just being ourselves in any expressive way, “I am who I am…”

What inspires you?
Raw, untouched areas of life are what inspire me.   When I look at raw materials in any form and making it into something creative, innovative and your own vision is what I like to see in any ART.  I feel that I look at this in the Ministries I do.  I like the unexplored areas that are not normal that people tend not to want to serve or even immerse into that culture.  “RAW an UNTOUCHED”

tkinterviewpics01

Describe your ‘creative process’.
When I look at any creative process, first I pray for the correct research and inspiration for this process.  I look at the materials I have in front of me or what I can use. I then find the image or vision that is given to me in my mind and start to create with no Barriers, no Boundaries.  It might look like nothing at the beginning, but it is evolving into something that can be translated to what the purpose was.  Sometimes it does not even come out the way it was suppose to, but it ends up with some type of purpose.  This process can take hours to days, it just all depends on what tools I have and materials that are available.  There really is no time table for this creative process, unless I do have a deadline.  Than I need to really look at what I can achieve in that time and work into it.

What is a common mistake you notice during the create process.
My common mistake is that I tend to go too far off the boundaries and get side tracked and the process becomes mixed up.  That is why prayer in the beginning is so important.

How do you think your art form has evolved during this generation?
Being in fashion, I need to always evolve into the next generations, fashion is very quick and we need to be on top of every trend, idea and theme that comes into this generation, so how do I think my art will form?, it just evolves into the research and market we are striving for.  This is organically happening, no control.

 

tkinterviewpics02

What’s the next season of creating look like for you?
The next season for me is to be more clear on what the end user is needing, not just trying to accommodate everyone.

Any other comments you’d like to share?
I truly believe that we all have a purpose and we need to express this in any medium.  Some might be in art and some might be at there home or work place.  Just be creative and think outside of the box and do not conform to traditional ways of thinking.  Creativeness is a PLUS in life now.  Look at where the world is and where it is going.  Diversity and creativeness is what is needed now.  So whatever your purpose is, just start and do not be afraid, there is really nothing for us too loose.  Express your purpose and be creative…………

