An interview with Jeff Jordan

Posted on January 27, 2009

0


2483

I’ve known Jeff Jordan for many years. He has a quirky sense of humor and a great writing style. Since I am relatively new to the art of writing, I appreciate his input on the creative process.

If you had to describe your artistry in one word, what would it be?
Officially: Writer- Unofficially- Poet (I think most Artist are poets underneath it all.)

How did you develop a love for your art? 
Well, as a kid, I always had a very active imagination, and nothing brought it out like reading. Words were the keys that unlocked my imagination. So I was a voracious reader. I was the kid that got books taken up in school for reading during class, which I though was very hypocritical of them to not encourage reading. Besides, I sucked at sports so I had to have something to do.

What inspires you?
On the surface level, satire and dark comedy, but what I really write about is how downtrodden and fallen this world is. About how desperately man needs salvation and how equally desperately he’s unable to save or change himself, unable to overcome the problems in his life. Of the brokenness of this world and our shattered dreams, the way we wished things were versus the way things really are and the bitterness of reality. I like themes of people knowing they are out of place and that life doesn’t turn out the way it is supposed to, but not knowing why or how or what to do about it. Maybe “inspiration” isn’t the right word since this all seems so dark, but I also can see how it developed my sense of humor.

Describe your ‘creative process’.
I am honestly not sure I have one. I will get an idea, and honestly those can come from anywhere, and then I will sit down and brainstorm on it. I will often toss it to a friend to get their opinions on it and to help formulate what I am working on. Then I begin writing. For me, the process is very fluid and subject to change. I often won’t know what is going to happen in a story until I get there. I will have a basic idea and one or two major plot points but the pages in between are as much a mystery to me as they would be to you. This keeps things fresh for and keeps me from getting bored or feeling like the story is already written.

What is a common mistake you notice during the creative process?
I think fear is one of the biggest mistakes I have noticed in the creative process. Fear of broaching a subject or making a point because it might be offensive or to revealing about myself. Telling myself I can’t do this or can’t do that, that it isn’t acceptable or that a story is to dark or to challenging for people to read.

One of my writing prof’s once said, “The story you fear the most is the one you need to write the most.” So I have always tried to keep that in mind and always challenge and push myself.

This probably sounds cliché but I suppose that is the reason the cliché exist.

How do you think your art form has evolved during this generation?
The Internet has brought about the biggest change. Blogs, web comics and online publishing have become huge and opened up doors for a lot of people. This generation seems to have a short attention span, so I wonder sometimes if short stories and comic books are going to be more popular over lengthy novels, but that is just speculation on my part.

What’s the next season of creating look like for you?
Now THAT is a good question. It pretty much involves me trying to figure out what I am supposed to do with this gift and in what direction to take it. (Articles, novels, scripts, legislation etc.) I do honestly believe God has called me to write, where and how I don’t know. So that is what I am working on. I’m also still refining my styles and developing more ideas, including really working on my first novel and maybe slowly developing a graphic novel.

Any other comments you’d like to share?
I think the biggest thing for me to add is that I do not write because I want to but I write because I have to. If I had my choice, I would have been a musician. I love music and the get all the chicks. I write out of a need to understand the things that rise up out of the murky depths within me and I write to try and make sense of the world around me. If I don’t it will drive me mad, I might even explode one day.

For more of Jeff:s writings< check out:
http://www.newprussia.blogspot.com/

Posted in: Creative Leaders