An interview with artist Jon Sibal

Posted on January 25, 2009

0


6a00d8341d0bf253ef00e54f8daf848833-800wi

I met Jon Sibal briefly a few years ago- great guy. I have always loved Jon’s comic book art., especially since I am a huge Superman fan! Since that time he has moved into amazing automobile concept work. As you can see his talent is diverse. Thanks Jon for taking a few minutes to share with us your creative leadership journey.

If you had to describe your artistry in one word, what would it be?
I would just say an Artist since the range of projects I get to do varies so much from one to another.

How did you develop a love for your art?
Exposure from my environment had a big influence. From seeing my dad draw, to watching anime at an early age and now being into cars and getting to see them built in real life continues to keep me hooked.

ac_cv868_ds_copy-cv

What inspires you?
Artwork and designs that are well done. Pieces that are new and creative.

Describe your ‘creative process’.
I try to get as much info as I can about each project. Getting the “style” correctly is a must. Once that is set, I’ll sketch out the designs until I get a better idea or if its comic book work, I just go at it.

What is a common mistake you notice during the create process.
Haste is waste. Not getting enough information about the project can easily kill your momentum. You can spend countless of hours in one design to only find out later that it’s not what the client  had in mind.

How do you think your art form has evolved during this generation?
Digital is playing a big role more than ever. It’s a different way of approaching the work but I don’t think it can truly ever replace the traditional pen and ink process.

What’s the next season of creating look like for you?
In terms of comic book work, I got a new title that we will be working on soon for DC Comics. Aside from that, I also will be working on the Supergirl series. And as far as automotive related work, I’m still designing some new tuner cars and speculative renderings of upcoming models from different automotive manufacturers. All in God’s willing and timing.

ac858

Any other comments you’d like to share?
Only by God’s grace we can do all this.

Thanks Jon! You can see more of his work at www.jonsibal.com.

